Baby Prayers

0027

As would be normal in a Christian home we pray with our children before they sleep. Lately, this has become an incredibly important practice for Owen. He often insists on coming with me to tuck Lukas in and prays with me for him (often it is unintelligible.) And he never lets us forget to pray when we tuck him in. On top of that once we have prayed he insists on praying himself.

Today at nap his prayer was…
Dear Jesus, (i had to start him on that)
Please make Owen feel better.
Bless Owen.
Make Owen not scared.
In Jesus name- Amen.

Tonight Jeff tucked him in and his focus shifted…
Dear Jesus,
Help me be nice to mom,
Help me be nice to daddy,
Help me be nice to Lukas,
Help me be nice to Noni,
and help me be nice to my ‘gook’ (what he calls his drink).
In Jesus name amen.

The thing is. The was his first really good day in the last couple weeks. He has been wearing me out… as I have shared. I must have complimented him 30 times today on how good he was. Today was like a breath of fresh air with him. It’s pretty cool to see how his prayer life is starting to reflect where he’s at. I’m learning that praying with him is already giving me insight to him and he’s not even 3 yet. Pretty cool. Just thought I’d share.

6 Responses to “Baby Prayers”


  1. 1 misi April 11, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Awww that is so sweet! I am glad you guys had a great day…

  2. 2 Heidi Jo April 11, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    i think that when kids pray the angels in heaven blow the trumpets and stop everything just so that all can lean their ears toward earth and hear the sweet innocence being offered up. i love it!

  3. 3 totaltransformation April 11, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    My daughter won’t go to bed unless she gets a prayer, a kiss, and a hug from my wife and I.

  4. 4 nicole fort April 11, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    liz- that’s amazing. . . leaves me speechless. but those are the real things in life right there. you’re a great mommy. love you, nicole

  5. 5 southerngirlmusings April 11, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    I love the prayers of children they are so honest they are raw. Mine would hear us ask for “traveling mercies” and now ds (3) prays for traveling mercies even when he isn’t going anywhere. 🙂

  6. 6 meridith April 13, 2007 at 3:46 am

    that is absolutely precious


Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,940 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

