I gotta ask… (crowd participation encouraged)

Okay, I haven’t done this one in awhile. BUT since I have many new blog friends since I last did, I thought I would do it again. Of course you can blurk (lurking on someones blog incognito), but I would prefer you play my little game.

Here’s the deal.
I want to know.

1. Do you blog, or just read blogs?
2. Where do you blog?
3. When did you start blogging?
4. And last, Why did you start blogging?
edit: 5. How did you find Mommyzabs?
We’ll start with me.

1. Obviously, I blog. And lately quite obsessively.

2. mommyzabs.wordpress.com

3. I wrote my first blog August 18th, 2004

4. I had been reading blogs for about a year and thought is somewhat strange at first. However, the more you expose yourself to something, the less strange it seems! I started mainly because I was moving out of state, had just had a baby, and quite my career. Less than a year before that I had gotton married! It seemed with all the change that blogging was a good format to talk about it, and stay in touch with people I cared about. Now there are so many reasons I blog. I just love it. I’m hooked. I have learned so much, met so many great people, and kept in touch with old friends!

YOUR TURN!

21 Responses to “I gotta ask… (crowd participation encouraged)”


  1. 1 bd April 23, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    1) I blog quite regularly and rather politcally incorrectly.

    2) http://www.indesignguy.com

    3) July 3, 2004 (though my current archives don’t go back that far)

    4) I read various industry blogs for a while, and then a web site redesign prompted me to start mine.

  2. 2 brahnamin April 23, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    i blog.

    i blog over @ jugglingCats on wordpress (the url is actually brahnamin(dot)wordpress(dot)com [sorry for the cloak and dagger, but wordpress can get pretty cranky about posting links in comments]

    i started on oct. 16, 2006

    i blog because i like to babble. i like to vent ideas. otherwise they burble up in my naked skull and give me splitting headaches and nosebleeds

    *shrug*

    some of my thoughts are very zeus vs. athena

    ::

    you might add a 5th question :: how did you find my blog (in my case you commented over on my wife’s blog *skyWindows*)

    i’ve read some of your posts.

    nice blog.

  3. 3 tieki rae April 23, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Crowd participation = fun! (And it would probably be slightly awkward if you asked these questions and then discouraged crowd participation… haha).

    Anyway,
    1. Technically I do blog, but when the going gets tough at school, I’ll be doing well if I even get around to reading everybody on my blogroll.
    2. tiekitwist.wordpress.com 🙂
    3. September 23, 2006
    4. I quit writing for a conservative campus newspaper and missed it so badly that I decided to try my hand at blogging. The most ironic thing is that I quit in part because I didn’t have enough time to really be involved in the paper – blogging definitely takes up way more time than writing for the paper ever did!

  4. 4 mommyzabs April 23, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Great Idea brahnamin! Thanks for visiting. I will edit that to have a 5th reason. Thanks for liking my blog, I like your wives as well 🙂 I will stop by yours very soon.

    That is funny about wordpress not liking links. I wonder if that will keep comments from showing up?

  5. 5 mommyzabs April 23, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    oh yes and thank you bd and tieke for playing too!

  6. 7 Heidi Jo April 23, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    okay, i guess i’ll finish the comment here…not sure what just happened:-)

    3. first blogged in October of 2006
    4. i started blogging because a friend sent me the address of another blog (i’d never even heard of a blog before that…hey, i’m in SD) and i thought, “i could do this…” it’s a great way to use the love of writing that i have.
    5. i found you through shannon a. i loved your honest portrayal of motherhood, being a wife and mostly a christian.

  7. 8 brahnamin April 23, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    as far as wordpress not liking links, they don’t disallow them, but if you do it too often and they notice or if somebody complains they can shut your blog down without notice.

    they are particularly picky about links back to a personal blog or website.

    which isn’t a big deal, since you can link your website via your handle when your reply.

    i think it’s mostly just to cut down on unwanted spam, but i have some friends who had their blog yanked over it

  8. 9 *Terramia* April 23, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I blog.
    *Terramia* — http://lovemyearth.blogspot.com/ — out of Victoria, BC
    Because I love to talk, it’s therapautic, and I love design. And it helps increase my WPM! (:
    Also, I love to peruse the net for intriguing & interesting blogs, like this one! Tres cool!

  9. 10 nicole fortunato April 23, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    1. not a blogger, but i read blogs and comment on others’ blogs. i love keeping up with people this way. i don’t know that i could be this vulnerable, consistently. i love that you can. most blogs i read aren’t so vulnerable… they’re more just pics of their kids and what they’ve been up to. but then again, that’s why we clicked from the beginning… depth. 😉 love you my far away friend. . . xoxox
    2. n/a
    3. n/a
    4. n/a
    5. from you!

  10. 11 Anne Weakley April 23, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    I love to read your blog Elizabeth. You are so genuinely passionate – The China situation is horrific – thanks for bringing it to my attention. I am in disbelief. I am excited about your Church situation – email me and let me know which one you are talking about. Hoping you feel better soon!

  11. 12 mommyzabs April 23, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Brah- htat is just crazy that they shut sites down without warning! like a scarey big-brother sort of thing!

    Terramia- I will come by and check you out! Did you find me through Poppy? I wondered since you are from BC and love design. Glad you like it here!

    Nicole- that is so sweet. thanks. i miss you over and over 🙂 i wish you would blog. I know you have that one thing, which by the way i need the link to again!!!! email me.

    Anne- you are sweet, I will email you.

  12. 13 Kyle Chowning April 23, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    1. I occasionally blog, but read others everyday.
    2. http://www.kyleandkristy.com/kyle and soon http://www.motiveight.com/blog
    3. First blog, 7/17/05
    4. I blogged to get my thoughts out. Too many thoughts and not enough listeners, I find.
    5. My wife told me about your blog.

  13. 14 avoiceofreason April 23, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    I blog and try to read most on my list everyday, at least a post or two.
    avoiceofreason.wordpress.com
    I started blogging a bit with my wife about our cats and dogs. We’re big time animal adopters – and some of those may end up on mine.
    Just to let out steam – kind of rants of frustration.
    I think I saw you on Neil’s site, and then you visited my humble home!

    🙂

  14. 15 Julie April 24, 2007 at 12:40 am

    1. Do you blog, or just read blogs?
    I blog a bit on my myspace if that counts!
    2. Where do you blog?
    myspace
    3. When did you start blogging?
    about a year ago
    4. And last, Why did you start blogging?
    going through some stuff with family and needed to get it out, made some great friends by doing it, and met really spiritual, caring people too. Would love to get an actual blog, blog, but not sure how/where to start.
    edit: 5. How did you find Mommyzabs?
    I went to highschool with Jamie (Dellesky) and was bored one night reading other blogs that she has listed on hers and I found yours. I am a stay at home mom (at least until my youngest starts school this August) with 2 kids, and I realized after reading your blog a few times that I love and agree with your analogies, views, morals and values pertaining to parenting, marriage, politics, religion and just everyday life.

  15. 16 mommyzabs April 24, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Kyle- thanks for playing, get kristy in the game! 🙂 Gosh i miss her.

    AVOR- I saw your cat post, very cool. I will have to posts pics of my cats 🙂 Does your wife still blog?

    Julie- Well, how very cool to meet you! Thanks for comming out!
    If you are interested in setting up a blog you can go to wordpress.com and it will walk you right through it. If you have any qu’s you can email me. I will be putting up an email button on my sidebar soon. 🙂

  16. 17 misi April 24, 2007 at 8:49 am

    1. I blog
    2. legacy-continues@blogspot.com
    3.First log sometime in Sep.06
    4.I started to keep up with friends who have moved away.
    5. I found your blog through you!

  17. 18 the Grit April 24, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Hi mz,

    1. Do you blog, or just read blogs?

    My partner, the Brit, and I blog, rather excessively, I would add.

    2. Where do you blog?

    Having gone uptown, we have our own domain: http://britandgrit.com/

    3. When did you start blogging?

    While I dabbled at it earlier, together we have been going for 6-7 months.

    4. And last, Why did you start blogging?

    We ran across each other on Helium.com. During our conversations on their Discussion Board, we decided to try a cooperative writing project. Blogging seemed to be the best medium for our creative attempts to play off each other. While it may not be working, it is certainly fun.

    5. How did you find Mommyzabs?

    If memory serves, you found us 🙂 and we are glad you did! I spend a lot of time keeping up with the news, current events, and politics. Your blog is a refreshing oasis of peaceful calm in my day. Many thanks.

    the Grit

  18. 19 LayGuy April 25, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    1. Do you blog, or just read blogs?
    Both really – but tend to swing more on the blog side

    2. Where do you blog?
    http://www.layguy.com

    3. When did you start blogging?
    Was on Yahoo360 lat year for about 6 months. Started up layguy about 2 weeks ago. Will be transferring a number of posts to LayGuy over time.

    4. And last, Why did you start blogging?
    A journal to gather my thoughts and an outpost to vent some things on my mind.

    5. How did you find Mommyzabs?
    Surfing tags on WordPress

  19. 20 Jen April 30, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    1. Mostly I just read them. I like catching up on everyone’s life.

    2. Randomly I post blogs on myspace.

    3. If you count myspace, I started in March of 2006.

    4. Generally to post the entertaining events of life.

    5. I think I found your blog through Leta.

  20. 21 momlovesbeingathome April 30, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    1. Do you blog, or just read blogs?
    I blog and read blogs (somewhat obsessively at first! 🙂 )

    2. Where do you blog?
    wordpress – http://momlovesbeingathome.wordpress.com/

    3. When did you start blogging?
    January 29, 2007 (It’s so funny to hear of people doing this for years because I had never even heard of blogging until late last fall!!)

    4. And last, Why did you start blogging?
    My husband told me I should blog – he had been doing it for awhile and thought I might like it.

    5. How did you find Mommyzabs? I think you found me first but I’m not positive. Too many blogs on my blogsurfer to keep track of that! haha!


Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,954 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

