INSOMNIA

Today isn’t necesarily crazy. But I’m exhausted. 2 nights of almost no sleep, and I won’t go into the details. It isn’t my children as they are amazing sleepers most the time. (I know I feel the eye-darts- sorry).

I thought I’d ask you all what you do when you have insomnia? or how you treat it?

You can give me serious answers or just be funny. I need help and I need a laugh, so both will do. I have a wedding to be at tonight and a sitter to prepare for. My house is a wreck because I did barely anything with my back out and took it easy on myself while jeff was gone. So though there isn’t much, it still feels like a lot today. I know, cry me a river.

Anyway, please send me your non-drug related solutions! (not anti-drug, I just have that covered!)

10 Responses to “INSOMNIA”


  1. 1 nicole fortunato April 27, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    it’s probably a long-shot, but can you take a 15 minute nap? i’ve read that’s more rejuvinating than longer naps. as well as doing yoga- downward dog. oh and then a cup of coffee after you wake up! even the warmth of coffee in your hands will make you feel gooood on the inside. πŸ™‚ xoxoxo nicole

  2. 2 mommyzabs April 27, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    nicoley- If only I could…. If only I could even fall asleep for a nap in 15 minutes. You see my problem is a constantly running brain I can’t seem to slow down. It even runs on dumb I don’t care about stuff. SO, I have never been able to take powernaps, b/c i can never predict just how long it would take me to fall asleep. Then when I actually do fall asleep i am so deeply asleep! On a good night or nap it can take me an hour to fall asleep. crazy!

  3. 3 the Grit April 27, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Hi mz,

    I have the same problem on occasion. I get to thinking about stuff and my brain starts racing and sleep is out of the question. I’ve learned to recognize the onset of this, and just give up on snoozing in favor of making good use of the extra time. Just be careful operating heavy equipment until you catch up. Of course, there is that new sleeping pill that is not supposed to be addictive. I can’t recall the name, but the commercial has Abe Lincoln and a talking beaver in it.

    the Grit

  4. 4 dawn April 27, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    When I can’t sleep I pray. Either the devil sees to it that I fall asleep real fast, or I get in some very meaningful prayer time!

  5. 5 tieki rae April 28, 2007 at 1:13 am

    I always fall asleep when I’m trying to get assigned reading done and I don’t want to be sleeping. Then, when I have insomnia, I pull out my reading thinking that I’ll pass out, and instead it just keeps me awake. 😦

    Anyway, counting in Hebrew usually works well for me, but I understand that’s not very practical for everybody! Try putting yourself to sleep slowly from bottom to top (starting with your toes). It sounds silly, I know, but I’m usually asleep before I get to my knees. πŸ™‚ On the other hand, if I start by focusing on calming my mind first, it always backfires. :/

  6. 6 misi April 28, 2007 at 6:07 am

    A cup of hot tea w/ chamomile and 2 valerian roots capsules help me.

  7. 7 misi April 28, 2007 at 6:07 am

    I know you said no drugs but I figured it’s herbal right?

  8. 8 mommyzabs April 28, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Such lovely feedback! Thanks everyone!

    Rozarem is what you are talking about Grit… and I seem to fall in the .04% that has exasperated insomnia from it, much like the melatonin it is related to! Go figure πŸ™‚

    Dawn, Thanks for stopping by, and yes I go remember to pray sometimes, and they have at times been really eye-opening moments for me! Great stuff.

    Tieki- Hebrew that is great. And relaxation stuff is good.

    Misi- you are right herbs don’t count. What is funny though, you reminded me i have valaren root capsuls that do calm me good! You know you can also buy the herb and take a tsp and mix it with 1 tsp skull cap, and then boil water and let it seep for 10 minutes. Nice calming cup of tea. I used to do this 2 times a day. I need to go get more.

    Thanks so much everyone for the awesome advise,
    I’m proud to report that I SLEPT LAST NIGHT. AND my amazing husband let me sleep till 9:40. Ahhhhhh. So much better πŸ™‚

  9. 9 wytammic April 28, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Hey — I think I taught Tieki Rae that relaxation technique. Give me some credit kid!

  10. 10 totaltransformation April 28, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    “what you do when you have insomnia”

    I wish I could help, but I’ve never had that problem. Mine is the opposite.


Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,940 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

