My Dad and Stepmom Need Prayer.

Steve & Susan Fathers Day

I’m exhausted. Lukas had a bad day. I’m stressing about Potty Training (I know I’m not suppose to.) But more than that.

My phone rang last night at 20 minutes until midnight. Knowing it could be an emergency I ran to the phone. Nobody calls me at that hour. The caller I.D. listed my dad’s cell phone so I was petrified. He has a lot of heart problems and the last 2 weeks have been really difficult for him. I answered with an “ARE YOU OKAY?” He was, But my step-mom wasn’t.

My dad’s wife took a really bad fall. The ambulance had come to pick her up and he and my uncle (who is a mal-practice defense lawyer, and lives across the street) drove my father to the ER. He was calling to see if I could go try to clean the blood out of the carpet so that it wouldn’t dry there. The carpet is white and Susan (stepmom) is the queen of clean.

Long story of the night and today skipped…. She is now in the hospital and can expect to be there a minimum of 2-3 days. How the heck from a fall? That’s what I thought, but apparently it was a really bad one and her face ran into a few things on the way down. Her upper lip was sliced through all the way up to her nose. Her chin is black and blue with stitches in it, as well as her check and her eye. She has 30 stitches in all. All that will heal. The worst part is her neck.

Susan has incredible spinal problems. At one point years ago a doctor saw an x-ray and in his horrible bed-side manner told her he was suprised she wasn’t in a wheelchair. She has nothing in between her upper vertebrae. And so when she hit her face and her neck was hyper-extended it caused intense contusions and fluid to build up in her spine. After complaining of intense pain in her hands they did an MRI and noticed all the fluid. So for now she is on steroids every 6 hours and Morphine for the pain.

The Neuro Surgeon explained that she would need back surgury sooner than later. Something she has been told before, but this event only makes the case for surgury stronger. She will have to be wearing a neck brace during any possibly harmful activity, even riding in the car. And she won’t be lifting or driving for a long time.

So if you think about it pray for her. Pray first that maybe she could just quickly be healed from all this. And secondly for peace should that not be the answer. She hates the idea of surgury.

On another note. My dad’s heart is so bad. I’m afraid he may need a pacemaker. But he probably wants that even less that Susan wants back surgury. That one could use prayer too.

If you think of it Go HERE if you want to leave a word of encouragement to my dad.

15 Responses to “My Dad and Stepmom Need Prayer.”


  1. 1 nicole fortunato April 30, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    i will pray. I’m sorry. . .

  2. 2 E April 30, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    what hospital is she in?

  3. 3 mommyzabs April 30, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Nicole. thanks girl.

    E- I will email you that information. after all I do keep some info private 🙂

  4. 4 skywindows April 30, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    I am very sorry to hear about your stepmom… You are all in my thoughts during this time…

  5. 5 momlovesbeingathome April 30, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    How awful! I pray that she heals very quickly from this fall and the Lord will touch her spine and bring healing to that area. I pray that your dad’s heart withstands all this stress and that he will find comfort. And lastly, I pray for you and the rest of your family that you will be comforted through this time of need as well.

    God bless you and your family~

    (By the way, your step-mom is a beautiful woman!)

  6. 6 holly April 30, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    I am so sorry to hear what is going on. Our family will definately be praying for your family. PLEASE let us know if there is anything else we can do!

    ps.After seeing your Dad’s blog I can see where you got political awarness and activism. I think that is so cool!

  7. 7 mommyzabs April 30, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Thanks guys so much appreciated.

  8. 8 Kimberly Anderson April 30, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about what is going on with your stepmother. I will pray for both your dad and stepmom as well as your family.

  9. 9 wytammic April 30, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    Oh MZ, so sorry to hear your family is going through this. I am praying for you. Please remember:

    Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. Romans 8:37

  10. 10 Heidi Jo April 30, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    praying for you too. what a stressful time.

  11. 11 jen May 1, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Poor Susan! I’ll add them both to my list of people to pray for. Miracles are just around the corner.

    Finally I’m caught up!

  12. 12 t.y. May 1, 2007 at 12:17 am

    so, so sorry to hear this, elizabeth. will be lifting you all…

    t.

  13. 13 misi May 1, 2007 at 8:33 am

    You are surrounded in prayer girl keep your head up. This too shall pass… Love you.

  14. 15 velvethammer May 3, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Sorry to get to this so late MZ. How terribly sad. Your Step Mother Susan will be in my prayers. She looks like such a lovely person.

    All the best,

    Velvet


Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,956 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

