Internet Free Fridays

friday button

Well.

I have made a decision and I don’t really like it. For the time being I am going to be taking Fridays off of the internet. No blogging, No reading blogs, nothing internet related. Gosh- I’m afraid to say it… Not even email.

I just want to keep myself in check. You know “they say” that the internet is addictive. Apparently somehow it goes straight to the pleasure centers of the brain and that is part of the reason we love it so much. I don’t have a ton of research to site here, but that is what “they say” and until I have read the “facts” myself I will leave it at that.

So as I said, to keep myself in check Friday’s will be no internet day. As a commitment I have a new badge toward the bottom of my page that looks like the fun little icon on the top of the page. If anyone would like to join me in this and you want a badge, email me or comment and I will send it your way. Any takers?

11 Responses to “Internet Free Fridays”


  1. 1 wytammic May 4, 2007 at 7:41 am

    Well done MZ. It is easy to get caught up in the internet. It’s like having every newspaper in the world at your fingertips.

    I use it to stay in touch with Tieki Rae. Cell phones help, but I couldn’t take the distance between us so well without the benefit of email and messenger.

  2. 2 misi May 4, 2007 at 8:29 am

    No taker here, sorry E. I am just not on the internet enough to worry about it being a problem, yet:) I only make it a point to check your blog once daily and p.s. I am at work when I do it. At home I never get on. Maybe once a week?

  3. 3 Neil May 4, 2007 at 8:40 am

    That’s a great idea. I have thought about doing a media fast now and then.

    You better not respond on this until Saturday!

  4. 4 Heidi Jo May 4, 2007 at 9:45 am

    nothing like a little conviction to start off a friday…. i don’t use the net or such much at all, if any, on weekends. so, friday’s are sticking around for me.

  5. 5 nicole fortunato May 4, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    sorry girl. i spend every day of the week (for 8 hours) at an office in front of a computer and rarely am online on weekends. but i would LOVE to take fridays off! 🙂 i think it’s good discipline though. i’m behind you on this one! xoxo, n talk to you monday!!!

  6. 6 the Grit May 4, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Hi mz,

    You go girl! It’s not like the Brit and I will heckle you, make fun of you, and such while you aren’t looking. Really, it’s not like we will have mock MZ Fridays, or such. Trust us 😉

    Seriously, I’m surprised that you have found the time to be on line at all, much less to the impressive extent so far displayed. If anyone gives you trouble over your wise decision, let me know and I will taunt them for you.

    the Grit

  7. 7 Anne Weakley May 4, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    I did that on Weds for a while – was wonderful!!! It is freeing IF you never turn it on and it just isn’t an option. Otherwise, everytime I walk by the computer I feel the need to check my email!!! I would like to consider going computer free on one day of the week – but I have to pick one that won’t be a problem work wise…hmmm..i will let you know!

  8. 8 Erston May 5, 2007 at 10:13 am

    In all of the 10 or 12 step programs I’ve been in , the first step is always admitting that there is a problem.

  9. 9 mommyzabs May 5, 2007 at 11:52 am

    I come back and have a slew of comments on this one. HAHA.

    W, yes the intertnet is a main way to keep in touch with people for me! Being I have friends all over the place from moving around, this seems like the best way to connect and seem close. I’m also an Information hog. I LOVE IT!

    M, that’s great you aren’t an addict. Keep the priorities straight.

    Neil, it is 10 minutes till noon on staurday! WOOHOO! 26 emails unread, and this comment section is the first thing i checked. We have to leave for lunch in 10 mins, so i am guessing i won’t get to the 101 unread posts and 26 emails 🙂

    HJ, you don’t seem like you are on it near as much as me 🙂 Course you have even more kids!

    NF, being a working girl would make it hard to do a fast like that. Becareful or I will drag you into this internet world on teh weekends HAHAHAHAHA.

    Awe grit, you won’t bash me, I just know it. And thanks for offerning to get anyone that does.

    Erston, this is true. While i’m not 100% i have a full blown problem, i would like to make sure that I don’t by testing myself like this. I hate addiction. Esp, if it is one that could rob my kids of me.

  10. 10 LayGuy May 5, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Wow MommyZabs!

    After reading your post I realise just how much time I spend online! I get on after the kids are sleeping and I have finished my ministry responsibilities (including maintaining our church website http://www.citywestchurch.com.)

    I love reading but the thing is that at the end of the day, my brain is fried and I doze off after spending more than 2 minutes on a page.

    The internet helps negate this because the page is constantly changing! It’s all hyper! Maybe that’s why they call it hyperlinks! 🙂

  11. 11 *Terramia* May 6, 2007 at 1:58 am

    So wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your “tech-free” day…
    sounds like a lovely day spent nurturing relationships (here & there, if you know what I mean).
    I hear ya loud and clear about being hungry… how can one not be in this day & age? Continue on your journey… it will only get more fulfilling, gratifying, and enriching each step of the way.

    Peace be with you,
    Tara (:


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,954 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

