I Gotta Ask… (crowd participation encouraged). Part 3

Last week not as many people participated in my little I gotta ask game. Maybe it was the quesitons? At any rate, I’ll try it again this Monday πŸ™‚

1. What is your main source of news? Internet? T.V.? Newspaper? Do you care?

I probably get my news 50% from t.v. and 50% from the internet. I care a lot. Sometimes maybe too much.

2. Do you listen to music? a certain kind? All time favorites?

Yes- though I once was really up on it and now, well… I don’t get out much πŸ™‚ I grew up with a ton of appreciation for the Beach Boys and Brian Wilson. I loved the Cure and Depeche mode but still was a fan of New Kids on the Block and Milli Vanilli (cut me some slack, I was 13). Then there was a femmes phase and then Elliot Smith. I went through a big billy holiday frank sinatra period… and now I like all sorts of things! From worship cd’s like Hungry or Matt Redman to The Fray and Camera Obscura. I think my taste is probably all over the place.

3. Do you have myspace or facebook?

Yes both. My personal myspace is private friends and family only. And my Facebook is of course private as well.

4. Is your interent dial up, cable, DSL? Wireless, Laptop, Desktop? Mac? PC?

Me- Cable, Wireless, Mac, Laptop.

5. Do you have an ipod? Other MP3 player.

Yes- I have a pink one that I got for a birthday from my husband a few years ago. And this year he gave me a pink shuffle for Vday. He has one of those Video ipods and a shuffle. We are pretty wired around here.

6. Are you addicted to the internet? How long are you on? What are you on for? work? social? research? news? all?

I hope I’m not, but close. Hence, the Fridays off. Luckily I’m pretty busy with the kids, playdates, and keeping house and life together so That keeps me from being a super addict. I would say I’m on 1.5-2 hours a day… but those are mostly nap time and night time. I am on for blogging, learning, and news.

That’s it for now, your turn. Please play πŸ™‚ Don’t be shy.

9 Responses to “I Gotta Ask… (crowd participation encouraged). Part 3”


  1. 1 bd May 7, 2007 at 1:12 am

    1) Internet = roughly 90%. Primarily news.google.com and reuters.com. If The Journal (WSJ) was free, I would probably rely only on that.

    2) Yes. Lots. Mogwai, late 90s emo, more Mogwai, Rosie Thomas, Postal Service, Appleseed Cast, Derek Webb, Starflyer59, Project 86, Stavesacre, Red House Painters. I think most worship CDs make good coasters (audience gasps in horror!).

    3) Both. I’m constantly thinking of dropping myspace however.

    4) DSL through speakeasy.net

    5) Pretty much all the time for all of your options. Unless I’m driving or riding the motorbike.

  2. 2 Heidi Jo May 7, 2007 at 9:32 am

    1. i hate national news anymore…but when i have to find out i go to fox news. although a recent blog i visited referred to fox as ‘faux’ news…i guess some people aren’t interested in hearing the news portrayed fairly. no internet…although i consider your dad a great source of current events. i care a great deal, but i choose to be selective about what garbage i let into my spirit, it just serves to madden me.

    2. i can honestly say that i only listen to christian music anymore. with kids, i just can’t justify having anything else on. i am a hick, i have a don williams cd (i know, you have no idea who that is), and i love that…otherwise not into the music scene right now. loved hootie in college. (oh and you know how i felt about nkotb and yes liked Vanilla Ice as well:-)

    3. no other internet spaces other than my blog.

    4. cable hook-up, pc. as low- tech as possible.

    5. don’t have an ipod or mp3- no need i guess.

    6. i would be lying to say that the addictive feelings come…but i try very hard to curb it and my four kids do wonders for the stopping the selfish monster from getting out of control. i am on only for the blog interaction and SHOPPING.

  3. 3 Erston May 7, 2007 at 10:00 am

    1. Internet 50%, TV 45%, Radio 4%, Newspapers 1%
    2. A little of everything – mostly mainstream rock thru the ages. Beatles, The Who, Eagles,Fleetwood Mac,Genesis, U2, Chili Peppers. Anything with a stong catchy beat, (from Sloop John B, Radar Love, Stairway..,Shock the Monkey, Sandman & Calling Elvis to Zombie, Get the Party.., Please Mr DJ. Quiet piano solos at the start of a song,like early Elton John,Dido, and thanks to your hubby – Seabird -can match up well with some of my many complex and changing moods.
    3. No, Had a MySpace for 2 days, got offered a date, ran away like Bill from Hillary. (Haven’t dated anyone but “She Who Must Be Obeyed” since 1974. That whole marriage thing kills dating)
    4. Cable, I think? (Technologically challanged.)
    5. Basic MP3, waiting for daughter to load it. (See note 4.)
    6. Currently 3-5 hours a day – mostly job hunting,researching companies. Usually 1 to 1.5 hours – catching up on news, contacting family who don’t answer their phones.

  4. 4 misi May 7, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    1- Internet 10% T.V. 10% husband 80%. I just try to filter through all that stuff because it’s hard when you care so much but you have NO power to change it. I tend to think what’s the point?
    2.I listen to mainly christian music w/ some things like Cold Play,Snow Patrol, and a couple of other Indie bands.
    3.I just have a blog. I have sworn off MySpace:) Too trendy for me.
    4.Cable hook-up.
    5.Can you believe I don’t have either?? I just don’t get into that kind of thing.
    6.I use the computer at work so for 8 hours a day I am on it for business. When I come home most day’s I don’t log on at all and if I do it’s to pay bills or check e-mail. I have never been a surfer.

  5. 5 momlovesbeingathome May 7, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    1. What is your main source of news? Internet? T.V.? Newspaper? Do you care?

    The internet – I learn a lot by blogs I read. I also like to watch Glenn Beck and The O’Reilly Factor on TV sometimes as well as some cable news. I never watch the local or national news on network television. I usually don’t read the paper although we get the Sunday paper and I try to at least glance through it. I care about what’s going on in the world but I hate the news because it’s either all bad stuff or it’s all lies.

    2. Do you listen to music? a certain kind? All time favorites?

    I LOVE music! I listen mostly to Air 1 – Christian radio. I like contemporary Christian, Christian rock, and also hymns. Occasionally I’ll listen to secular music but most of the time I don’t. My favorites right now are Selah, Chris Tomlin, and BarlowGirl.

    3. Do you have myspace or facebook?

    No. I’ve never even heard of facebook??? πŸ™‚

    4. Is your interent dial up, cable, DSL? Wireless, Laptop, Desktop? Mac? PC?

    cable, wireless, laptop, pc

    5. Do you have an ipod? Other MP3 player.

    No. I don’t really like headphones – I’d much rather listen to the radio or a CD.

    6. Are you addicted to the internet? How long are you on? What are you on for? work? social? research? news? all?

    Of course! I try to limit my time online to times when I don’t need to be doing something else. (I’m not very successful at the moment as I was doing some work and it was causing me to get sleepy so I came to find some blogs to read to wake me up! πŸ™‚ ) I use the internet for fun (blogging), for school (homeschooling), for keeping up with things we are involved in, for news, and for many other things but I won’t list them all. haha!

  6. 6 southerngirlmusings May 7, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    #1 – 95% internet in that I read my local paper online as well as the NY Times as I like the Week In Review and then I visit other news outlets. I do watch the last few minutes of our local news and then watch ABCNews tonight if I remember.

    #2 – I love music. I rarely listen to any of the current secular music and have a hard time with Christian music that samples secular music. When I was growing up I liked it all from the original hip-hop of Big Daddy Kane to The Cure. I still like some of the Motown stuff from my parents era. Nowadays, I like Nicole C. Mullen, Salvador, Israel, Chris Tomlinson, Natalie Grant. I also like Martina McBride’s new song – Anyway. My dd loves Carrie Underwood’s Jesus Take the Wheel. We also listen to a lot of Jazz and classical via our satellite service.

    #3 – Neither

    #4 – DSL, desktop (getting laptop soon as dh is kicking me out of his office), PC

    #5 – No

    #6 – If not addicted pretty close…I am on for news, work/research (read homeschool), blogging and rabbit trail following. My dh considers me to be the queen of the internet as if he wants to know something, I will go find it. Are you starting a support group? πŸ™‚

  7. 7 mommyzabs May 7, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    BD- Thanks for playing every week! Stavesacre great pick.

    Heidi Jo- STOP COLLABORATE and LISTEN ICE IS BACK WITH A BRAND NEW INVENTION…

    Erston- Probably a good mood on myspace. I’m glad you like Seabird πŸ™‚ Family doesn’t answer the phones? me? who?

    Misi- Cold play and Snow Patrol, NICE

    MLBAH- Thanks for the trackback:) I answered your facebook question on your blog πŸ™‚

    Southern girl- No support groups yet. How funny would it be to have a group blog support group for internet addicts πŸ™‚ Kinda like hosting AA in a bar!

  8. 8 the Grit May 8, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    Hi mz,

    1. Both, although the best news source, to me, is the net.
    2. Classic rock, leaning heavily to Lead Zeppelin and Jethro Tull.
    3. I signed us up for myspace, but haven’t fixed it up yet.
    4. Dial up (although my cable company swears we will soon get cable modem access) from a reasonably modern Compaq/HP box running Windows XP.
    5. Although I will probably get one once the high speed access comes through.
    6. Blogging and related activities take up at least 6 hours a day.

    the Grit


  1. 1 Questions for you « Mom loves being at home Trackback on May 7, 2007 at 3:31 pm

Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,940 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

