A Paris Bashing Party Anyone?

I’m not a big Paris Hilton fan. I’m also not a Paris Hilton hater. I’m actually rather indifferent to her. The only occassions she comes to my mind is when I see her on t.v. or in a magazine. Other than that, I don’t think about Paris Hilton.

Today I was forced to think about her as my friend over at Non Sequitor sent me a link to this article.

Most of you know who Paris Hilton is so I won’t be pasting that part. What some of you may or may not know is that she is headed for Jail time for driving on a D.U.I. suspended license. She has appealed this sentence and will likely be unsuccessful. The diva better get used to bright orange (isn’t that what they wear these days?).

All of that really doesn’t matter to me. She broke the law and will be punished like anyone else. Seems fair right? What DOES annoy me however is what the author of the article says some Christians are doing in response. Read on…

A Christian group are planning to celebrate Paris’ jail sentence by trashing her CDs at US Hilton hotels. Mark Dice – founder of The Resistance, who have previously criticised 50 Cent and Jessica Simpson for being bad role models – will speak at Los Angeles’ Beverly Hilton on June 5 – the day Paris is due to begin her sentence. He said: “The kinds of role models that have come to light recently in America are horrible. “She is an extremely materialistic, uneducated person who rose to prominence because of a homemade sex video. Now we have all these young, preteen and teenage girls who really look up to her. “We’re going to be throwing her CDs in huge trash cans and getting them off the face of the Earth.”

COME ON PEOPLE!
Look, I think she dresses inappropriately. I don’t like the idea of her leaked sex video. Many of the things I have seen her in seem anything but edifying let alone an example to our young women. HOWEVER, the girl is making her bed and will sleep in it. I do not think she is constructing a whole agenda for our generation to lead it into complete depravity. I think she wants to be beautiful, rich, and famous… and in doing so may not have the best of morals.

To hold Paris CD trashing parties at her family’s hotel chain seems absurd. Aren’t there more time-worthy causes to fight? I get overwhelmed sometimes of the mere thought of all the sad, awful things going on in the world. All the people being sold in sex trade, children being taken advantage of, babies being aborted, mass genocide in africa, abuse, the plight of the poor…etc. As Christians if we are going to advocate for something, don’t those causes seem more valid?

I guess I’m treading on the line of being judgemental and I really do not want to be like that. Maybe these people have this bizarre calling? I just don’t remember Jesus talking about rejoicing when lost people get what’s coming to them. Anyone have thoughts on this?

11 Responses to “A Paris Bashing Party Anyone?”


  1. 1 meridith May 8, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    thank you for posting this. what you said is pretty much exactly how i feel. as christians we should be showing people God’s love not celebrating their personal failures. it just made me sick when i read that article to think that the word christian was used in connection with behavior like that because to me it could not be further from christ-like.

  2. 2 southerngirlmusings May 8, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    This is sad….if anything Jesus talked about how the angels rejoice when the 1 lost sheep is found not the 99 which we already know where they are….we have no idea of who her cell mate will be and for all we know it is a Christian and God can work anywhere he so desires.

    It really causes confusion when the same young, preteen and teenage girls that this group would like to turn away from Paris and turn towards Christ conduct themselves in a manner that disgraces God and really just brings more attention to Paris.

  3. 3 jonfeatherstone May 8, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Just one more example of Christians being known for what they don’t believe rather than what they do believe.
    Sheesh.

  4. 4 momlovesbeingathome May 8, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    That’s pretty sad. It amazes me that “Christians” behave that way. We don’t need to worry about other religions or cults winning people away from Christianity – Christians are doing a good job of pushing people away all on their own. It’s heartbreaking.

  5. 5 Sunday School Teacher May 9, 2007 at 6:25 am

    Anyone can claim to be a “Christian”, but they are known by their fruit.

    I don’t know these people and can’t judge their calling either. But I would examine their fruit very carefully and observe its affect on others before I tasted it.

  6. 6 misi May 9, 2007 at 7:59 am

    I agree with momlovesbeingathome, I was once downtown and a group of “christians” were out holding signs and yelling things at people like”do you want to meet Jesus wearing that”? I just thought o.k. that really makes these people want to go to church tomorrow. It’s so sad because they are the hypocrites that people talk about within the church.

  7. 7 missy May 9, 2007 at 11:04 am

    This is a perfect example of Christians thinking with the mind of man instead of thinking with the mind of Christ. I somehow don’t think Jesus would treat this situation by publicly scorning her! Remember the woman caught in the act of adultery. Whom did He end up publicly scorning? The religious people who were judging her. Just something to think about!

    That being said, I am often guilty of having a judgmental spirit from time to time myself, and I really need to work on it. I should do less people bashing and more praying for them! Thanks for reminding me of this!

  8. 8 mommyzabs May 9, 2007 at 11:30 am

    What great comments! And new commenters as well 🙂 Yes, we can’t forget that at times we do stupid stuff too… but we also can’t endorse these people doing what they are doing. It does serve as a really great reminder!

  9. 9 bysandra May 9, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    I could care less about Paris’ cd(s). There are some pretty disgusting cd’s out there that I would love to see burned – but that’s another topic. I’m not laughing at Paris’ indignity about going to jail. I’m afraid of her disregard of the laws that are there to protect others on the road. And driving while intoxicated isn’t “hot”, it’s totally ignorant. For anyone who drives the same roads as Paris or who has loved ones driving them, you should want anyone – including Paris to be following the rules and not thinking they’re above them.

    I totally don’t see how burning her cd(s) is going to help anyone or anything. And I’m curious – who owns a Paris cd? Is there going to be this big bonfire and one cd is tossed in? :o)

  10. 10 Chris May 9, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    But by the grace of God, go I.

  11. 11 theobromophile May 10, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    While I think that Paris Hilton acted badly – believing that her fame (the result of birth and happenstance, not her own merit) would absolve her of her wrongdoing – I see no reason to blame her family or to mock her misery.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,940 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

