It’s Not What I Say.

Owen Intense

Recently I posted this video on how our little ones are watching everything we do and immitating us.

This morning was a perfect example of that.

As I sat at the kitchen table doing my devotions and reading my husband walked into the kitchen and started talking sweet to me. I kind of answered but kinda blew him off too, after all I was deep into my reading.

Meanwhile, Owen was drawing at his table.

JJ noticed my dis-interest in what he was saying and asked me what was wrong. The fact is, nothing was wrong I was just distracted. So I told him nothing, that I was just into my reading. I must have had a tone that implied “please be quiet, I’m busy” but at the time I would have denied it.

Obviously, Owen noticed. Little children are just so dang smart! We really don’t give them enough credit.

A few minutes later JJ attempts to talk to him by asking him questions. Owen’s response?

Dad, Please stop talking to me I’m drawing right now“- said with total tone!

OUCH!

I told him it was wrong to talk to his daddy that way and that he needed to hug him and apologize. Obviously my actions spoke louder. He heard what I didn’t say. He heard me telling JJ that what I was doing was more important than talking to my husband. And Owen learned therefore that what he was up to was more important than paying attention to his dad.

Gosh- sometimes I’m just so amazed at what a high calling parenting is. How it points out flaws we would not see if it weren’t for these little reflections following us everywhere.

God have mercy! Keep changing me.

12 Responses to “It’s Not What I Say.”


  1. 1 the Grit May 22, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Hi mz,

    While our child long ago flew the nest, although not the bank account, we have, amazingly enough, the same problem with our dogs. While, not having opposable thumbs, they don’t present the same problems with “do as I say!” For instance, since they are all on restricted diets, if I dare to fix myself a snack, I have an instant audience watching my every move with wonder and disapproval at how I can flaunt the feeding schedule. It never ends.

    the Grit

  2. 2 stevereenie May 22, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    He is so cute though!!! ……Next Stop Lauderdale

  3. 3 Heidi Jo May 22, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    they hear and see all….kind of like God:-)

  4. 4 mommyzabs May 22, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Grit- dogs? really? I try to avoid those then πŸ™‚

    Dad- would you like to watch him today πŸ˜‰
    he is cute, but boy has he been a force of rebellion today. I have had to carry him to time outs more times than i can keep track of- sigh- i’m wiped out!

    HJ- yeah that’s right.

  5. 5 Neil May 22, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Excellent parenting on your part. We’ll all make mistakes, but apologizing when appropriate sends a terrific example to your kids. Parents too proud to admit mistakes and apologize do their kids a disservice.

  6. 6 Heather May 22, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Thank you for your prayers, and stopping by! I really like your blog! πŸ™‚

  7. 7 misi May 23, 2007 at 7:22 am

    Oh yea, I see that with Maryah. She does so many things like Meme does it is really unbeleiveable. Of course my grandma is in complete denial because she is of a different generation. She doesn’t realize that parents do indeed shape their children. She really thinks it’s all pre-destined…. BIG SIGH..

  8. 8 totaltransformation May 23, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Turning down your husbands sweet talk like that, how could you? lol.

  9. 9 southerngirlmusings May 23, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Girl, girl, girl…you know that I have BTDT. πŸ™‚ I like Heidi Jo’s comment about them being like God in that they do see/hear everything. I always refer to them as mirrors because they show me how I am actually living not how I think I am living. πŸ™‚ Thank God for his grace and mercy.

  10. 10 the Brit May 23, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Hi Mz

    Understanding is a two-way street. As long as that is the case, then the partner will always remember the times of beauty that keep him with you.

    the Brit

  11. 11 stevereenie May 23, 2007 at 11:12 am

    MZ,

    I’d love to watch him today. Can you drop him off??????

    . . . . . Next Stop Lauderdale

  12. 12 mommyzabs May 23, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Thanks Brit.

    Dad, Sure I’ll drop him off, if you buy the ticket πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,954 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

