Tongue Treatment

From my Quiet time this morning, this passage on the tongue never fails to be a challange for me:

James 3:5-10

The tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, its the whole course in one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.

All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by human beings, but no one can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters this should not be.”

I know that I have come a long way in this area… but I am quite certain there will be room for improvement the rest of my days on earth. Often, I come home from an event, or social setting where I vividly remember comments I have made that should have been thought about before they left my mouth.

I’m a talker, I love to talk, communicate. In fact this blog, is really helpful in my attempt to get out words during the day πŸ™‚ It has also been helpful in teaching me the discipline of sitting on my words a bit. Writing them, editing them, reconsidering them, and waiting for the appropriate time to air them. There was a time my blog was not written that way. I would often rant or throw words out whenever with little consideration given to their appropriatness. Few people read back then. These days I try to consider them longer.

This has helped me in my flesh and blood (non-cyber) life as well. I do have a long way to go, but I’m learning. I often have to pray for the conviction of God on my words… otherwise, I find them flying out, having no realization of their effect. Often if I give myself time to pause in speaking, a moment of consideration, I am better able to guard my tongue. It is when I feel a subconscious race to get it out that I find myself in the most trouble. Also, when I speak to fill air I often look back and see meaninglessness and boredom in my speech.

Thank God that when he shows us how greatly an area of our lives needs to be refined, he always provides the ability to change.

6 Responses to “Tongue Treatment”


  1. 1 misi May 31, 2007 at 6:31 am

    You are right on E. I have also found that when people know you are a Christian they pay close attention to what you say. Sometimes you are the only Bible another is reading….

  2. 2 Michelle May 31, 2007 at 11:24 am

    Good points and convicting too especially with my rants on my blog. Thanks for the reminder. I don’t feel like I’m a talker, more of a venter..LOL. And glad to see you are back as well!

    Michelle

  3. 3 t.y. May 31, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    oh my, totally resonating with you on this one, elizabeth. it is a fine line to walk, right? and if you are bold enough to say something that you really feel strongly about and believe, then you better be ready to back it up and show it in every other part of your life–especially as a christian.

  4. 4 molivo May 31, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    This one hits me right between the eyes, and I know it. The worst thing about me is, I deliberately ignore the ‘voice’ in my head sometimes that is telling me to shut my stinking mouth, because I just want so badly to get ‘my side’ out there, or even just because I want to vent my anger or frustration. Of course, later I feel terrible and regret things I said, but by then it is too late.

    Oh, how I long for a delete button in my life!! πŸ™‚ Of course, I’d end up deleting so much I’d probably end up being about 14 years old, and I do NOT want to be 14 again, so I’ll just try to do better from here on out, I guess. Great post.

  5. 5 southerngirlmusings May 31, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Thanks for the reminder…I too am a talker, 😯 and God is truly still working on me in this area. Marriage and children have shown me a lot and I always think of these verses with Ephesians 4:29. Be blessed!

  6. 6 mommyzabs May 31, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    Misi, that is a great quote the one about us being the only bible people read.

    michelle- i wrote you an email πŸ™‚

    ty- yes a very fine line

    missy- i have diliberately disobeyed that voice to. sick feeling isn’t it.

    SGM- yes marriage and children have a way of breaking down your mirage that you are perfect.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,955 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

