IFF. (Internet Free Friday)

IFF, Today will be on leave. 2 days this week I was already free of internet… so in the heart of the reason I have left Fridays internet free… I am releasing myself from it this week. After all, I’m not legalistic 😉 But it will be back on next Friday as usual (unless someone else cuts my cable line early in the week.)

Gosh- I still have so much catching up to do. I’m down to only 62 unread posts. Too bad I love reading blogs as much as I love writing them! Otherwise I would just not do it, but I love hearing the thoughts of so many intelligent, creative people out there!

I also have a question to those of you who are regulars here… if I moved to my own domain would you still read? I have had mommyzabs.com for a bit now, but haven’t been ready to move. I don’t have the time to switch right now, but probably will do it eventually… I just get nervous about the prospect that people won’t change their links to me, and won’t come visit any longer. I still have so many coming from my blogger site daily who have not updated my web address on their bookmarks. Will another change so soon rock the boat? Will I suddenly be only talking to myself out there in cyberworld?

Moving would give me so much creative freedom! I have so many ideas, but can’t really execute them as much here. The pros and cons have me all confused. Feedback?

23 Responses to “IFF. (Internet Free Friday)”


  1. 1 nicole fortunato June 1, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    i would ABSOLUTELY still read if you were on your own server.

  2. 2 misi June 1, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    I’ll follow you anywhere Zabs;)

  3. 3 the Grit June 1, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    Hi mz,

    You bet I will! I’ll also feature your new site in a post that will include a short rant about people not updating their blogrolls.

    If I can help, let me know. I’d commit the Brit as well, but I think he’s had his fill of moving for a while 🙂

    the Grit

  4. 5 missy June 1, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Consider me a follower!! 🙂

  5. 6 Neil June 1, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    I’d follow. Would it still get picked up in blog readers?

  6. 7 mommyzabs June 1, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Thanks guys.
    Neil-i believe you would have to change the feed address. when i get to the point of moving I will definitely let everyone know how to have it in a feed 🙂

  7. 8 Jordan (MamaBlogga) June 1, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    I’m not totally familiar with WordPress.com-hosted blogs (though I did write a tutorial for getting to your own domain from Blogger), but I think there’s some way that you could just redirect to your own URL. Then you wouldn’t have to worry about transferring or uploading your posts (not to mention subscribers, though I highly recommend switching to FeedBurner for your default feed) at all, not to mention securing a server/hosting.

    I made the switch two months ago and I liked it. Though I’m sure this is less of a concern for you, my readership/reach really took off.

    Oh, also, you can update your Blogger site to go directly to your new blog.

    Feel free mail me if you want to discuss pros/cons further!

  8. 9 Heidi Jo June 1, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    you can’t shake me that easily…if you change i will follow:-)

  9. 10 layguy June 1, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    Hi MZ – make the move! Use your current URL in conjunction with http://www.mommyzabs.com and give people time to update their links and you will be ok.

    In other words, set up mommyzabs.com. Export your posts and for a short time, publish on both websites – it will take you a little while to set up http://www.mommyzabs.com anyway. In the mean time, make it clear on this website that you will be moving soon.

    That way, people can follow you wherever you go.

  10. 11 mommyzabs June 1, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    layguy, thanks for all the help you have been providing lately and advise, and jordan thanks for doing the same today. I’m still a little lost but I’ll get there. Thank god people in this cyber world are so helpful 🙂 I remember when I first started getting walked through posting a photo and having a photo host… in almost 3 years I’m now trying to design a site 🙂 Blog world has officially sucked me in.

  11. 12 momlovesbeingathome June 2, 2007 at 12:07 am

    I’d still read but somebody would have to teach me how to get your stuff easily! haha! I read everything off of blog surfer and it has to be a wordpress blog to go on there. So, if you aren’t on wordpress I’d have to either remember to click on your blog everyday or – like I said, figure out a way to get it some other way. I’m only 4 months into this so I’ve still got a lot to learn! 🙂

  12. 13 southerngirlmusings June 2, 2007 at 12:58 am

    Of course, we would all still read you. 🙂

    On another note, you mentioned the word legalistic…why has that been bouncing around in my head the last few days…hmmmm

  13. 14 mommyzabs June 2, 2007 at 1:00 am

    MLBAH- If i move i will make sure you are hooked up.

    SGM- THanks, on the word legalistic, I’m not sure, you tell me? You going to write a blog on this one? 😉

  14. 15 Anne Weakley June 2, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    yes – we love you

  15. 16 Julie June 2, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    yep, I will. Still debating starting my own blog.

  16. 17 mommyzabs June 2, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    awe shucks anne, thanks.
    Julie- do it 🙂

  17. 19 kjames June 3, 2007 at 8:55 am

    i have yet to change your link on my lj… i keep meaning to but haven’t. so i will get around to it eventually. if you have your own domain, will it have the rss feed-thing? that way i can syndicate you on lj so i can just read you from my friends page. i’m lazy. 🙂

    i was going to do it with this site but if you’re thinking of moving i’ll just wait till you decide.

  18. 20 mommyzabs June 3, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Hey Karen! Glad you are back 🙂
    Yes when I move I will have a feed burner. AND i’m hoping to forward from this site for a bit.

  19. 21 jan June 3, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    yeah, you can’t shake us that easily! of course i’d follow!

  20. 22 homehopeandfuture June 3, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Of course I would read. You crack me up. . .you’ve also inspired me to blog, but just a bit! How do you have blogposts to read? I heard you could sign up so that you would know when people posted but I can’t figure out how, so I just have to go from blog to blog to check. . .so annoying!! Love ya!

  21. 23 mommyzabs June 3, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Jan good to see you around these parts 🙂 I am just loving poppy talk. Remember when are blog worlds were so much smaller!

    HOPE HOPE!- Hey girl! Started a blog? WHERE? Do tell!


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,940 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

