Moving from wordpress to wordpress HELP!

This post will not apply to most of you… but I need computer help. I am exporting all my old entries to my new domain name where wordpress has been installed… and when I go to import them it tells me it was completed, but they aren’t there? What is going on? Anyone have a clue?

4 Responses to “Moving from wordpress to wordpress HELP!”


  1. 1 layguy June 3, 2007 at 4:04 am

    Hi MZ,

    When you go to export your feed, make sure you don’t mess with the settings for “restrict” – make sure it says “all.”

    Save your feed onto your desktop and link to it when you are importing. If that doesn’t work, then something may be wrong with your installed WordPress.

  2. 2 mommyzabs June 3, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Thanks LG.
    I think maybe i have a problem with my wordpress… hm.
    I went to support forums and found a way to change permissions on my config… thought that would help, and it did, it allowed me to import, but nothing shows up.

  3. 3 the Grit June 3, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Hi mz,

    You might want to rethink copying your old posts. Duplicate content is frowned upon by the search engines. Of course, if you are planning on deleting this blog, that won’t matter.

    I just zipped over to your new site. Instead of wordpress it comes up with the directory structure. On ours, the wp software is installed under the directory off the root directory. Who’s doing your hosting? Did it come with an auto install program?

    Another thing to watch for is that all of your posts get transfered. When I was setting ours up, only 300 or so posts got moved when I tested it. This turned out to be a good thing, as I wound up erasing them all 🙂

    Good luck.

    the Grit

  4. 4 layguy June 3, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    MZ,

    How was your WordPress installed? Like the Grit says above, things don’t look quite right at your new site. Your directory structure shouldn’t come up – WordPress should. You do have a WordPress subdirectory and if I click on that, the wordpress site comes up. Get your friend who is hosting to get in contact with me.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
email button

What People Keep Clicking On (Today)

States Since April 2007

  • 15,954 clicks

Things I Post About

Mommy Zabs Since 2004

friday button
BoycottLogoNew
Add to Technorati Favorites

Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

